Documentary Association of Europe elects first advisory board

This week saw the inaugural general assembly of the Documentary Association of Europe (DAE). One of the most important items on the agenda was to elect the association’s first advisory board. Diana el Jeiroudi (filmmaker, Germany/Syria), Adriek van Nieuwenhuyzen (IDFA, Netherlands), Charlie Phillips (The Guardian, UK), Joanna Solecka (Alpha Panda, Poland) and Biljana Tutorov (Wake Up Films, Serbia) were elected with clear majorities to shape and build an international, interconnected and influential network defending and securing the place of documentary filmmaking.

Co-directors Marion Schmidt and Brigid O’Shea expressed their enthusiasm for the election of the advisory board. “We can only hope that this is the bridge between our members and the documentary community at large, to build a strong, united and truthful network. We are aware that now an enormous amount of work lies between us and a sustainable framework for the network to continue. We invite all to join the association and shape a future that represents Europe in its entirety”.

The association has already grown to more than 300 members. Working groups will now be established to tackle larger subjects facing the European and international documentary sector, and new resources for the industry were also presented during the general assembly. These will be available after a website relaunch scheduled for early April.

Learn more about DAE on their website: